jump to navigation

Day 21 – Love is Satisfied in God March 1, 2010

Posted by poetiscian in love.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Have you ever eaten a full course meal, but for some reason you were still hungry? How about starting out on a destination with the address and location, but still ending up lost. Here’s another one, meeting a group of friends for an activity and in a room full of people, you still feel lonely. This feelings are very similar to how you may feel when you are without God. A feeling of being unsatisfied with self or surroundings.  When we arrive at the realization that God is a complete package, we will hunger no more for things of the material world. You are probably thinking, “How can that be.”  I say, easy.  It is based on you having a personal relationship with God and trusting Him to satisfy all of your needs.

God ought not to be your last resort when nothing else seems to satisfy you, He should be first in your life.  No human has the capacity to give you all the things that you desire, only God has this magnificent power; however, you must put all of your trust in Him. There are times when it just seems as though your mate is unable to give you that contentment that you so desire, it is those time that you should seek God. The ones that you love the most are not always able to be that stable person that you desire, however, God is that non-movable rock.  Again, you must trust in Him to satisfy all of your wants and desires.  At some point in our lives, we are all broken and damages vessels floating in the sea of life.  God wants to be salvation that we so desperately need, but you must come to Him and place your cares upon His alter.  No matter how long you take, He will be there with open arms.

If we can just learn to put our faith in God, and not seek peace, love or joy from external sources, then we will be one more day closer to understanding the true power of love. Will you give Him a try?  You have nothing to lose, but salvation to gain.

A few critical thoughts:
Make God a bigger part of your life.  Don’t look to things that are unstable. God can fulfill all of your needs. God will always be on time and never let you down. God can be trusted.

Biblical Verse(s):
Isaiah 58:11
– The Lord will continually guide you, and satisfy your desire.
Philippians 4:6-7
– Be careful for nothing; but in every thing by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known unto God. 7And the peace of God, which passeth all understanding, shall keep your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.
Philippians 4:19 -And my God shall supply all your need according to his riches in glory by Christ Jesus.

Resources: The Love Dare by Stephen Kendrick and Alex Kendrick

Challenge:
be intentional today about making a time to pray and read your bible.  Try reading a chapter out of proverbs each day, or reading a chapter in the gospels.  As you do, immerse yourself in the love and promises god has for you.  This will add to your growth as you walk with him.


Q: Have you abandoned God?

Have a blessed day, I love you!
Dawn

Comments»

1. Lakia - March 1, 2010

God ought not to be your last resort when nothing else seems to satisfy you, He should be first in your life — AGREED! We have to remember that daily!

poetiscian - March 8, 2010

Lakia, thank you for visiting. The awesome thing about God is that even though we may put Him on the backburner of our inundated lives, He waits patiently for us to remember Him. He never forces His love or presence upon us – it is always given to us freely. Please drop by again – we will be working on Day 22 tomorrow.

Dawn

2. Cee Cee - May 9, 2010

So, I do believe everything happens for a reason. I met you face-to-face and grew interested in finding out more, which led me to this blogsite. Thank you. I just ordered the book ‘Dare to Love’ and I have read every daily blog posted here. Will Day 22 be coming soon, as well as the remaining days of the complete challenge? I am a follower now. Thank you again.

poetiscian - May 9, 2010

Hi Cee Cee, I suppose you are right. I certainly enjoyed meeting you again. I have not posted in over two months, but you have liberated me from my drought. Relationships are both challenging as well as rewarding. In seeking answers to the “whys” in my life, I’ve discovered the “just becauses.” LOL. Why do I love the way I do, inspite of sometimes bad outcomes? Just because I do, and that is what God expects of me. HA! Just that simple. So, I will brush off my CD’s and climb back upon this horse and ride. Thanks for offering to ride along. I look forward to our journey.

Dawn

3. Cee Cee - May 10, 2010

Dawn, thanks so much for making time to continue with the ‘LOVE DARE’. I know the answers are in no place but with GOD. But I’ll use you as my guide, if you don’t mind. I certainly need the encouragement. Guess that’s why GOD brought me here.

Glad I gave you a bit of ‘energy’ to get going again. I’ll look for the favor to be returned during my ride, [smile]. Thanks for having me.

Cee

4. Cee Cee - May 10, 2010

By the way, I should have accepted your offer to join you earlier, please forgive me. I bypassed that invite and am now playing catch up, but I welcome the lessons and offer full support moving forward.

As a matter of fact, I’d like to share some of these challenges on my networking sites. May I? I will certainly connect readers to this site as reference.

Cee

poetiscian - May 19, 2010

Cee, thank you so much for encouraging me to return to my passion. These last two months really had me in a state of confusion. Still rebounding from a seven year relationship, I had lost my faith. You obviously are meant to play an important role here, for your kindred spirit must have a lot to say to like wandering souls. Enjoy the ride, there’s plenty of room.

Hugs!

5. Denene - May 20, 2010

Love IS satisfied in God. It’s funny but God had to impress that on me to get my full attention. I was thinking about the things that I was asking God for one day when I realized I was reciting my usual litany of requests. And while I am faithful to believe that God will bless me with the desires of my heart, I realized I was focused on myself and not God. I realized I was pursuing the desires of my heart and not pursuing God. I wasn’t pursuing a closer relationship with Him. I wasn’t spending quality time in His Word. I wasn’t grateful nor thankful. Well, I thought I was. But the truth is, what was most burning in my heart and heavy on my mind was what I was asking God for. It took revelation of this for me to see that if I shifted to seek first the Kingdom of God and put Him first, He would bless me far beyond my small-minded request. He would bless me beyond what I could even imagine to ask; good measure, pressed down, shaken together and running over! So my intention is to put God first. He knows what I want and certainly knows what I need. Since He is the Alpha and Omega, He can certainly take care of everything in between. My intention is to seek the Kingdom of God on a daily basis by bearing the fruits of the Spirit: love, peace, joy, patience, kindness, gentleness, goodness, faithfulness,self-control. Bearing fruits of the spirit allows me to love my neighbor as myself. The first command, to love God with all my heart, all my mind and all my strength means putting Him first and knowing that He will meet all my needs.

6. Lydia - November 7, 2011

Thanks for the article and all your thoughts.
I am on staff with a college ministry and wanted to share with some students about satisfaction in God. There are great resources everywhere, but real quotes from believers are especially powerful. This is just that: people sharing what they are learning about how God meets us and satisfies us.
Thinking about this brought me to worship Jesus again. Our God fills us, not only in an ultimate way by Jesus’ death for our sins, but in a practical and daily way, by re-appropriating his love for us personally, through his Word, Body of believers and Spirit. It’s incredible that God laid out his plan for redemption in such a way to save his creation who hated him unto death. And that this plan comforts every sorrow, fills every longing, satisfies every hunger, heals every pain, forgives every sin, lifts to hope every despair and gives life to the dead. How wonderful, How marvelous! How wise is our God.
Thank you so much for sharing.
Please pray for the 8 believing girls that I’ll be sharing with and for their classmates and friends who they are ministering to. Pray God would open blind eyes and set the captives free at the University of Minnesota!


Leave a Reply

