jump to navigation

Day Five – Love is not Rude January 22, 2010

Posted by poetiscian in love, Rudeness.
Tags: , ,
trackback

What are we teaching our children and younger people via our own behavior?  I’ve been pondering this question all week, and I do mean, all week.  We don’t like to be around rude people, yet we act in very rude ways.  Cursing out the grocery store attendant because they may not have given us back the correct change, in front of the toddler.  Someone cuts you off on the Dan Ryan and you chase them down just to give them the middle finger, while baby is strapped in the car seat. Your mate mistakenly purchased an item that can’t be returned and you just go off the deep end, at the dinner table with the kids at full attention.  When you are driven by love you act patiently, in all of your relationships.  Rudeness is spawned by both selfshness as well as ignorance.  A small child is born ignorant and is taught proper behavior; however, an adult already or at least should already know the difference between right and wrong.  We need to be more considerate of the behavior that we show our children for a child is somebody’s child, even if not our own.  I am learning to adjust my behavior so that my grandchildren learn the proper way to treat people around them.  I do not want them to grow up with such a foul mouth, like their grandmother.  Change is a coming!!!  Have you looked in the mirror today?

A few critical thoughts:
Love lifts you to a higher level of understanding.  Three principles that one should be aware of as to avoid rude behavior: (1) Guard the golden rule – do unto others as you would have them do unto you, (2) No double-standards and (3) honor requests. Give your best to those that you love. NOBODY enjoys a rude person!

Biblical Verse(s):
Proverbs 27:14 – If a man loudly blesses his neighbor early in the morning, it will be taken as a curse.
Ecclesiastes 10:12 Words spoken by the wise bring them favor, but the lips of fools consume them. (NRSV)

Resources: The Love Dare by Stephen Kendrick and Alex Kendrick
Featured Bloggist: Kerri R. Smith – Daily Affirmation

Challenge:
Ask someone that you love to tell you three things that cause them to be uncomfortable or irritated with you. You must do so without attacking them or justifying your behavior. This is from their perspective only.


Q: Are you so self-centered as to think that every situation is about you and you fail to recognize when you are being rude and/or condensending in your relationships?

Have a blessed day, I love you!
Dawn

Comments»

1. Darentiz - January 22, 2010

Dawn this is Day 5..lol! You really hit me with this one. I too have a problem with language. It is a challenge when I’m with the kids to speak clean. Reading your post reminds me that bad language is RUDE. Starting today I will work on my language every minute of the day, not just when I’ll around the kids. It is time for me to make this change. Clean language can only lead to a clean thoughts, clean mind and the beginning of Godly living. Godly living is my mission in life. It begins today!!!!

poetiscian - January 22, 2010

It is my mission too – to live a Godly life and be in peace and harmony within all of my relationships. So tired of trying, just going to do and let life guide me. Always remember that we don’t serve a self-centerd God for the Higher Being wants only good things for us. It is ourselves who do not want these things and we show it via our own actions.

We both begin today! As always, thank you for sharing…

Darentiz - January 22, 2010

You are so right. Our actions dictate the results we get in our lives. The position we find oursevles in today is the direct result of all of our action until this point. Lonely..our action. At war…our actions. Jobless…our actions. If we are honest with ourselves and really evaluate our current condition we can identify an action or non action that brought us here.

PD - January 22, 2010

Very well said. I need to also work on that aspect of my spirtual being. I cannot quote the bible verse but I know that when you speak unclean things then you bring the uncleanliness into your life.

2. Shae - January 22, 2010

Hey Blondie, I love the blog I have visited the site numerous times, but have yet to post. I really enjoy reading your words of wisdom and encouragement. Keep up the good work. Luv u sis

Dawn - January 22, 2010

Thank you Dear! As a mother of four young boys and my sister, I know that patience is practically your middle name. When you get time in the future, share some of your thoughts on family, oh yeah, and you have a great husband too!

3. Cynthia - January 22, 2010

Being a single parent of 2…And having to raise my children all by myself….I would sometimes get very frustrated….And that would lead to me saying very bad things to my kids….And around them….Until i stopped one day….and thought about the things i we’re saying….Especially around my son….And also the fact that he was only 2 yrs old…And was starting to use the same language he had been hearing me use…This is a great blog dawn….It really makes us as parents stop and think about how our children see us….We are suppose to set good examples for them…..Most of the time our children want to follow in our footsteps….So we should speak positive things….And do positive things around them

4. California - January 25, 2010

Well DTL….took a long drive this weekend but had you on my mind through the days…. It’s a New Week and I look forward to the Elevation of body mind and souls as we continue to blog…On a personal note, I am grateful to You Ms.Porter for being an open vessel in the purification and growth of your spirit,mind and heart…the upliftment of women is centered in the souls of other women…We can heal each other and thus begin to end the cycles….What I Cherish about this past week through your light is this….People are listening and thinking not only about themselves but to others, eyes were being openned or perhaps reopenned to hopes and possibilities of change and growth… Continue on your journey and many will do the same….Much love to You Dawn!!!!!


Leave a Reply

