jump to navigation

Day Two – Love Shows Kindness January 19, 2010

Posted by poetiscian in Kindness, Patience.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

How often are we just mean and don’t really take each others feelings into consideration.  We say things that we should not say and do things that we simply know are not out of love?  If I am honest, I can admit it is more than it should be.  I was recently hospitalized for a few days due to surgery.  Initially I was very scared and almost canceled the surgery because I felt that I was alone.  However, when you have God in your life, you are never alone.  He is a provider in the midnight hour, and He never sleeps.  So, my prayer partner met me at the hospital.  She took off a day after being off for two-weeks to sit and talk and pray and dance and laugh and just be – just be with me.  This was an act of kindness.  She had nothing to gain.  Out of her love for me, it sparked her to act in a kindly manner.  I didn’t realize how many branches my tree has until I came out of surgery.  My mother, daughters, cousins and friends showed up and allowed God to show out in my life.  People have been sweeping in and out to assist in my recovery and although I am “single” I still do have a multitude of healthy relationships.  I recognize that the Higher Being has to be a part of every single task that I perform in life.  If I let go and let God, He will direct my path and hold my hand.  Are there instances where you did not act in a kind manner, when it would have cost you nothing?  How about a time when you acted out of kindness and yet felt it go unnoticed?  That does happen too…

A few critical thoughts:
Kindness is how love acts. Kindness creates a blessing.  When you are kind, people want to be around you. Kindness is gentle (be careful how you treat folks), helpful (when a husband steps up to assist his wife without being asked), willing (listening first), and finally kindness takes initiative (greeting first, forgiving first, taking the first step) in order to demonstrate love.

Biblical Verse(s):
Proverbs 3:3-4

Challenge:
Say nothing negative and do one act of kindness today.


Q: How harsh are you – honestly, and more importantly what are you going to do about it???

Have a blessed day, I love you!
Dawn

Comments»

1. Darentiz - January 20, 2010

Kindness..when I think of kindness I imagine an angelic smile on a kind face. I feel warm and secure inside, absent of fear or worry. It’s a feeling of love. Kindness is love. True love can not exist without kindness. When we approach others with kindness, we are careful and considerate. I try my best not be harsh. When dealing with all my relationship I put kindness out in front. Hey, sometime it’s difficult. People will take you there but I’m responsible for my actions. I learned that lesson many failed relationships ago. I realized that if I am kind to others, I have put myself in a position to hear and (sometimes) be heard. A platform has been laid for the sharing of ideals, dreams, aspirations and even fears. Would you do that with someone you didn’t love and should you?

poetiscian - January 20, 2010

Darentiz – oh how you have hit the target on this one. Putting kindness first, something that I thought I did, but during deep discovery realized that my harsh words were in fact not acts of kindness. Even if someone took my way past 10, like you said, we have control over our own actions. Sometimes the very people who are not kind to us, are the very people that we need to release from our inner circle. When I first met you years ago I knew there was something super awesome about you and that has not changed. Thank you for being my friend.


Leave a Reply

